凭借建立在 Sitecore 基础之上的全新网站,SGS 加强了全球范围内的品牌宣传、沟通和客户体验。

SGS 需要有一个新的网站来统一管理 60 个分布在不同国家、包含 20 多种语言的企业网站。新网站的目的是用一套 CMS 来管理网络内容,以保证品牌的一致性,同时允许各地区的网站添加本地特色的内容和产品宣传。

挑战

SGS 提供检验、测试、认证和鉴定服务,以确保相关产品、服务和系统符合质量、安全和性能标准。  SGS 的总部设在瑞士,有 1,350 多个办事处和实验室,全球员工有 70,000 多名。

SGS 原来的网站是以 ex-Obtree 的 Livelink WCM 为基础设计的,其中包括一个集团网站和 60 个各国网站,语言超过 30 种。此外,还有 215 个各种语言的小型网站。从营销角度来看,新网站的目标是要通过推动销售、提升全球品牌认知度和有利于为客户提供优质服务,确保 SGS 的竞争力。

另一个重要任务是要理顺 SGS 庞大的服务门类。该公司众多网站上以各种语言介绍的服务有 2,500 多项,在宣传上缺乏一致性,质量水平参差不齐,因此效率极低。将这些服务统一在一个平台上可以形成统一的企业语言和品牌认知度,从而增加关联销售,改善客户体验。

而之前的网站(包括企业和各国网站)让访客很难找到自己要找的信息。而竞争对手的网站则是按照行业/市场的常规结构来提供信息的,因此更加透明,查找想要的信息也很方便。由于原来的 SGS 网站导航结构混乱,而且很难找到想要的内容,本地企业不得不各自为战。

因此,SGS 的业务和资源分散在中央网络平台上的 270 多个网站中。无论是对 SGS 的服务范围还是企业品牌的宣传,这样做的效果都不好。此外,因为不同的业务部门都竞相使用类似的关键字和内容,SGS 的营销效果也是差强人意。

由于 SGS 所需要的结构和功能非常复杂,SGS 原先采用的 Livelink WCM 系统已经不堪重负。

此外,原来的系统允许本地的编辑人员可以随意调整各个区域的内容,因此监管也极其麻烦。内容和翻译的质量也参差不齐。统一这两者质量的要求迫在眉睫。 

解决方案

为了解决这些问题,SGS 与 Sitecore 和解决方案合作伙伴 Nemetos 走到了一起。

在历时 12 个月的挑选中,SGS 评估了所有主要的内容管理系统,最终选择了 Sitecore,其中的原因不乏:

  • Sitecore 的“双高峰 (Twin Peaks)”解决方案允许使用多台内容服务器
  • 本地化和翻译能力
  • 与第三方技术整合

SGS 通过多种方式对 Sitecore 的解决方案进行了定制和扩展。定制字段是根据一系列的 SGS 特定内容模板来制作的,并采用了多种标准字段。

此外,网站还运用了很多 Sitecore 模块,如搜索引擎优化和营销人员网络表单 (WFFM)。

最重要的整合则是 Languagewire 模块及其支持流程。它能够保证所有语言的内容都是最新的。解决方案的基本语言是英语,但由于网站要服务 60 多个国家,因此有 21 种语言的内容。此外,网站还整合了公司的 CRM,以确保高效的潜在客户跟踪。

Endeca 企业搜索引擎的运用和全面整合为网站提供了强大的导航工具。Sharepoint 的整合和共享关键文档的后续步骤之一。为了改善中国的网站性能,还部分用到了 Akamai 技术。Google 和 WebTrends 之类的网络分析工具也被整合到新的网站中。

网站的整个架构都是以提供本地化内容为基础的。此外,访客可以在服务和行业信息之间进行选择,个性化的脉络也很清晰。服务部分有三个内容分区,具体取决于国别选择。全球介绍当中也结合了对本地服务的介绍。如果访客选择某个特定行业,该内容就会被添加到服务介绍之中。此外,访客可以选择特定的喜好来创建个性化的媒体、培训、事件和新闻列表。美国网站采用了 GeoIP 定向,用于将用户从企业网站引向美国网站。

与以前的网站相比,总体的使用性能和体验发生了根本性的变化。SGS 现在可以提供以用户为中心的导航,从而让访客能够从自己的角度来访问网站,而不是像以前那样要适应 SGS 的内部结构。

结果

新网站的结果是,所有服务和信息都通过各个渠道集中到一个平台上。此外,SGS 的服务也有了统一的形象和一致的品牌感受。通过众多导航进入点来为访客创建一个包罗万象的服务目录,是一种将业务模式从以服务为中心转变为以客户为中心的手段。除了给 SGS 的业务宣传方面所带来的根本性改变之外,组织内部也围绕着网站结构而发生了巨大的变化。因为维护方便,而且能够为访客营造更新颖、更加个性化的网络体验,因此内容编辑人员对于系统非常满意。  

技术说明

解决方案的特殊组成部分

  • 移动网络:注重响应、适用于各种屏幕尺寸的设计,并能在智能手机和 iPad 上正确显示
  • SEO 模块
  • 营销人员网络表单 (Web Forms for Marketers)
  • CRM 整合 (Oracle 的 Salespipeline)
  • 电子邮件营销平台使用了 Sitecore 当中的登录页
  • 所有相关网页上的社交媒体

SGS strengthens brand awareness, communication and customer experience with its new global web presence based on Sitecore

SGS needed a new web presence that included the corporate website and 60 country websites in more than 20 languages. The goal of the new web presence was to manage Web content from one CMS for brand consistency while the regional websites add localized content and offers.

Challenge

SGS provides inspection, testing, certification & verification services to ensure that products, services & systems meet quality, safety & performance standards With the corporate headquarters   based in Switzerland, the SGS network comprises over 1,350 offices and laboratories and more than 70,000 employees around the world.

The original SGS website was based on Livelink WCM from ex-Obtree and consisted of one corporate site and 60 country websites in over 30 languages. In addition, 215 mini-sites in a number of languages existed. From the marketing perspective, the goal for the new website was to ensure that SGS remains competitive by pushing sales, promote the brand globally and facilitate the delivery of high quality services to customers.

Another important goal was to streamline the huge portfolio of services SGS offers. With over 2,500 services described in a variety of languages across the multiple sites, there was a lack of consistency in communication, different quality levels and thus a great deal of work inefficiency. Pulling the services onto one platform would allow a unique corporate language and brand awareness, resulting in in increased upselling and improved customer experiences.

The previous website (corporate and country sites) made it difficult for visitors to find the information they were looking for. Competitors` websites provided information according to the conventional industry / market structure and therefore were more transparent and provided easier access to the required information. Due to the confusing navigation structure and the lack of easy access to the requested content on the previous SGS website, local businesses had started to create their own specific sites.

As a result, SGS`s business and capabilities were fragmented across more than 270 websites on the centralized web platform. The range of services offered by SGS was presented suboptimal as well as the corporate brand. In addition, SGS`s marketing efforts were not really effective as the different business lines were competing for similar key words and content.

Due to the complexity of the structure and functionalities needed by SGS, Livelink WCM, the previous system used by SGS, had reached its limits.

Also, the previous system allowed local country editors to adjust content in many different areas and thus made governance extremely difficult. The quality of content and translation was extremely different. A process to make both unique was absolutely necessary. 

Solution

To solve these issues, SGS worked together with Sitecore solution partner Nemetos.

Over a period of 12 months, SGS evaluated all main Content Management Systems and chose Sitecore as the leader for a wide range of reasons including:

  • Sitecore solution allowing multiple content servers
  • localization and translation capabilities
  • integration with third party technology

SGS has customized the Sitecore solution and extended it in many ways. Custom fields were created on a number of templates for SGS specific content and a number of standard fields were adapted.

Also, many Sitecore modules were implemented, like SEO and Web Forms for Marketers (WFFM).

The most important integration was the Languagewire module and its supporting process. This ensures that content in all languages stays up to date. The primary language for the solution is English but as the site serves over 60 countries, the content is delivered in 21 languages. In addition, the company CRM is integrated to ensure efficient lead tracking.

The use and full integration of the Endeca enterprise search engine gives the site a strong navigational anchor. One of the next steps will be the integration of Sharepoint to share key documentation. To improve website performance from China, Akamai Technology is partly used. Web analytics tools including Google and WebTrends are also integrated into the new website.

The whole architecture of the site is based on delivering localized content. In addition, the visitor`s possibility to select between service and industry information gives implicit personalization. The service area provides three content areas, depending on specific choice of a country. The global description is combined with the local description of the service. If the visitor selects a specific industry, this content will be added to the service description. In addition, the visitor can select specific preferences for creating personalized lists for media, training, events and news. For the US site, GeoIP detection is used to redirect their users from the corporate website to the US website.

The overall usability and site experience have been changed completely compared to the previous website. SGS now offers a user-centric navigation to enable visitors to approach the site from their perspective rather than reflecting the internal structure of SGS as it was before.

Result

The result of this new web presence is that all services and information are channelized on one platform. Furthermore, a coherent, brand consistent feeling of SGS services is presented. The decision to create a universal service directory that is available for the visitors through a number of navigation entry points is a way of turning the business model away from being service centric to being customer centric. In addition to the fundamental changes with regard to communicating the business SGS offers, there have been massive changes to the internal organization around the website structure. Content editors are very satisfied with the system due to easy maintenance and the ability to create a more compelling, personalized web experience for visitors.  

Technical Description

Solution Special Ingredients

  • Mobile Web: responsive design that allows varying screen widths and displays correctly in smartphones and iPad
  • SEO Module
  • Web Forms for Marketers
  • CRM integration  (Salespipeline from Oracle)
  • Email marketing platform uses landing pages located in Sitecore
  • Social Media on all relevant pages