领先的渡轮运营商和货运航线使用 Sitecore 提高在线销售额

Stena Line 是世界上最大的渡轮运营商之一,拥有 35 艘渡轮的船队。Stena Line 拥有全欧洲范围最广的网络,由围绕着斯堪的纳维亚半岛和英国的 18 条渡轮航线组成。大约有 1590 万乘客和 300 万汽车使用 Stena Line 出行。此外,Stena Line 还有欧洲最大的货运航线网。Stena Line 网站每年的绝对访客人次在 500 万左右。公司以前的网络系统已经过时,他们需要新系统来容纳日渐增长的网站访问量。新系统要便于管理且具灵活性,尤其是 Stena Line 网站又是由各种不同的域和语言组成的。对各种可选方案进行评估后,Stena Line 选择 Sitecore 提供一套要与 Stena Line 本身的系统整合的新平台。

挑战

Stena Line 网站每天都有来自不同国家/地区的数千名访客,而且访问量还在继续增长。公司以前的 Web 发布系统已经用了七年,需要更换。有一个重要的问题是,Stena Line 本身的系统无法与旧平台整合。Stena Line 需要一个适合现有技术环境的平台来充当 Stena Line 本身系统的延伸。

“为了成功创建一个易于管理的网站,我们需要将我们自己的系统与平台整合。”Stena Line 的 IT 产品经理 Per Lundkvist 说道。“正因如此重要,新平台必须基于.NET,因为它是与其余的开发环节相同的技术环境。”

Stena Line 网站包括七种不同语言和九个域。由此可见,旧系统非常复杂,而且有时候管理起来比较困难。对公司的八名网络编辑来说,这意味着更新和发布新信息的工作量非常大。新的 CMS 有一个基本要求,那就是简化网络编辑的工作。

Stena Line 邀请了五家供应商参加竞争新的网络系统的采购。整个过程是根据一系列标准进行评估和评级的,这些标准包括:

  • 具有 SEO 功能
  • 能够管理多种语言
  • 能够管理多个域
  • 可以与内部系统整合
  • 能够处理不同类型的信息
  • 易于管理
  • CMS 公司的稳定性

解决方案

经过全面的评估后,Stena Line 选择了 Sitecore 的 CMS,因为它最符合他们的要求。Sitecore 的 CMS 与 Stena Line 本身的系统整合,包括该公司的预订引擎,这是公司业务的重要部分。Sitecore 可以很容易地适应 不同的业务要求,因此 Stena Line 使用 Sitecore 来创建跨各种业务领域的多个网站,包括他们的货运服务网站 www.freight.stenaline.com。使用 Sitecore 后,Stena Line 能够创建具有丰富信息并且用户友好的网站,从而提升销售额。

作为其 Sitecore 解决方案的一部分,Stena Line 实施了 Sitecore 暂存模块,因此可以通过更新中央服务器同时在多台服务器上发布内容。该模块使得服务器之间的信息移动更加容易和安全。

结果

部署 Sitecore 后,Stena Line 通过其网站产生的销售额增加了 50% 以上。这种增长是多种因素共同作用的结果,包括网站 SEO 可见性的提高、网站功能的增强、访客获得的信息和体验的质量的改善。

通过将 Sitecore 与其系统整合,Stena Line 的平台能够更好地适应公司网站访问量的增长。Sitecore CMS 易于管理员进行管理,而且他们可以针对不同用户为网站的不同部分轻松创建自定义工作流。由于 Sitecore 和 Stena Line 的其余系统都基于 .NET,因此使用现有工作人员创建更多网页和执行配置就变得非常容易。

技术说明

解决方案的特殊组成部分:

  • 与内部 .NET 预订系统和数据库整合

     

  • Sitecore 部署预备模块

Leading ferry operator and freight line increases online sales with Sitecore

Stena Line is one of the world's largest ferry operators with a fleet of 35 ships. With Europe's most comprehensive network, Stena Line consists of 18 ferry routes around Scandinavia and the UK. Approximately 15.9 million passengers and 3 million cars travel with Stena Line. Additionally, Stena Line has Europe’s largest freight route network. Stena Line's website has around 5 million unique visitors per year. The company’s previous web system was outdated, and they needed a new system to accomodate the growing traffic to the site. The new system needed to be easy to manage and flexible, especially considering that the Stena Line website is made up of a variety of domains and languages. After evaluating various alternatives, Stena Line chose Sitecore to deliver a new platform that would integrate with Stena Line’s own system.

Challenge

Stena Line's website has thousands of visitors daily from a variety of countries, and traffic continues to grow. The company's previous web publishing system, which they had been using for seven years, needed to be replaced. A significant problem was that it was not possible to integrate Stena Line's own system with the old platform. Stena Line needed a platform that would fit into the existing technical environment and act as an extension of Stena Line's own systems.

"To create a successful website that is easy to manage, we needed to integrate our own systems with the platform," says Per Lundkvist, IT product manager at Stena Line. "It was therefore important that the new platform was based on. NET, which is the same technical environment as the rest of the development."

The Stena Line site includes seven different languages and nine domains. This meant that the old system was complex and sometimes difficult to administer. For the company's eight web editors it meant a lot of work in updating and publishing new information. A fundamental requirement of the new CMS was that it would simplify the Web Editors’ work.

Stena Line invited five suppliers to the procurement of a new web system. The process was evaluated and rated a number of criteria, including:

  • Having SEO functionality
  • Ability to manage multiple languages
  • Ability to manage multiple domains
  • Possibility of integration with in-house system
  • Ability to handle different types of information
  • Easy to administer
  • The stability of the CMS company

Solution

After a thorough evaluation process, Stena Line chose Sitecore’s CMS, because it best matched their specifications. Sitecore’s CMS integrated with Stena Line's own system, including the company's booking engine, which is a critical part of the business. Sitecore readily adapts  to divergent business requirements, and Stena Line is using Sitecore to create multiple sites across their varied lines of business, including their freight service, www.freight.stenaline.com. Using Sitecore, Stena Line was able to create informative and user-friendly websites to drive sales.

As part of their Sitecore solution, Stena Line implemented the Sitecore Staging Module, making it possible to publish content on multiple servers at the same time by updating a central server. The module makes it both easier and safer to move information between servers.

Result

After deploying Sitecore, Stena Line’s sales via their site increased by more than 50%. This growth is a result of several factors, including increased website SEO visibility, the improved site functionality and quality of the information and experience provided to visitors.

By integrating Sitecore with their system, Stena Line’s platform is much better equipped for the growing traffic to the company website. The Sitecore CMS is easy for administrators to manage, and they can easily create customized workflows for different parts of the site for different users. Since Sitecore and Stena Line’s other systems are all based on .NET, it’s very easy to create more web pages and perform configurations with the existing personnel.

Technical Description

Solution Special Ingredients:

  • Integration with in-house .NET reservation system and databases
  • Sitecore Staging Module