目录

目录

您需要考虑哪些因素

在本地部署或在云端托管内容管理系统是一项重要决策。 无论您是要首次采用数字体验平台、迁移到新平台还是要升级现有平台,都需要在做出决策之前考虑以下 13 个因素。

1. 可扩展性

如果贵公司有大量的访问者或者会开展季节性的营销活动,则需要灵活调整带宽和计算容量。 否则,当您希望与客户进行互动时,客户将无法与您进行互动。

如果使用本地部署解决方案,则需要投资于额外的服务器,而这些服务器在这些高峰期之外可能派不上用场。 基于云的解决方案让您可以根据需求自动扩展,而且您通常只需根据实际使用情况支付费用。

2. 地理位置要求

如果您的客户位于较大的地理区域,并且您要向所有客户显示相同的一般内容,则您可能只需使用连接到数据中心的本地部署解决方案。

但是,如果您正在投资于新的数字体验平台,那么您这样做很可能是因为您希望为客户提供个性化的体验。 如果要跨多个地点向较小的群体发布有针对性的内容,基于云的解决方案可以提供更好的速度和性能。

3. 质量保证和用户验收测试

一些云端解决方案提供了比本地部署更丰富的测试环境。 您可以创建高访问量的测试方案,如果您的网站会突然出现很大的突发流量,这将非常有用。

本地部署解决方案将让您的测试人员可以在一个稳定的环境中工作, 让您可以利用现有的技术资产。 如果您的测试方法是针对流量高峰很少的固定环境而设计,则通过云端进行的高峰流量测试对您来说可能并不重要。

4. 应用程序功能部署

数字体验平台通常包含新功能。 但是,无论您的内容管理系统和数字体验平台托管在本地还是云端,对其进行升级和修补都需要进行规划、资源分配和测试。

使用本地部署解决方案时,您可以完全控制升级,但您也要对一切负责,包括在出现问题时。 使用软件即服务 (SaaS) 解决方案时,您的提供商可以完全为您处理更新,并为所有客户同时实施更新。 平台即服务 (PaaS) 和基础设施即服务 (IaaS) 环境是一种折衷的办法,让您可以控制何时进行更新,从而可以正确地进行测试。

5. 部署速度

如果您无需花时间构建基础设施即可实现可扩展性,则投入市场的时间将会显著缩短。 这是云端解决方案真正的优势所在,因为在体验驱动的市场中,率先投入市场的公司通常会获胜。

6. 三到五年的增长策略

贵组织是否预计未来三到五年会快速增长? 贵组织是否会受季节性或整个行业性的波动所影响? 如果您对上述任何一个问题的回答是肯定的,那么您将需要云端解决方案所提供的即时可扩展性。

如果使用云端解决方案,则在业务扩张时您将能够扩大规模;而当业务未按预期发展时,您将能够缩减规模,但如果您使用的是本地部署解决方案,则在这种情况下无法节省大量的资金。

7. 成本

计算数字体验平台的总成本时,软件的标价只是等式的一部分。

如果您考虑在本地部署,则需要考虑额外服务器的成本;部署、配置和维护基础设施的运营成本,以及更高的 IT 经常性成本。 使用云端解决方案时,您很可能可以降低前期成本并减少资本支出。

8. 系统集成和兼容性

这是本地部署具有显著优势的一个方面。 您可以控制实施过程,而且可能会发现可以更容易地集成您的系统、使用开发工具和连接到数据。 使用云端解决方案时,您的控制权较少,并且在集成您的数据系统方面需要投入更多的精力和思考。

9. 开发与开发运营

使用本地部署时,您的开发人员将拥有更多控制权,并且对其运营的影响将会更小。 但是,一些云端部署提供商可以根据您的开发运营环境塑造其产品,并使其适应您现有的开发标准。

10. 数据安全性和隐私保护

如果您决定在本地部署内容管理系统,则数据将保留在您自己的服务器上,并且与您的 IT 团队保留数据一样安全。 云端部署意味着您的数据将在更大的范围内传送,但是与贵公司相比,云服务通常使用更安全的技术和更严格的隐私政策。

11. 遵守国际上的数据法规

如果您在国际上开展业务,则贵公司必须遵守每个国家和行业的不同数据法规。 与云提供商合作可避免令人觉得棘手的合规问题,因为提供商倾向于遵守最严格的国际和行业法规。

12. 可用性

使用本地部署解决方案时,您需要确保具有额外的服务器和数据中心连接,以便为大量的受众提供服务。 使用云端解决方案时,您需要拥有不间断的互联网连接,以及一个致力于快速解决中断问题的服务提供商。

13. 复制、冗余和灾难恢复

在发生罕见的极端情况时,云解决方案可以提供明显的优势。 由于云端解决方案分布在多个数据中心并定期备份您的数据,因此您的在线状态可以保持不受影响,无论您的总部发生任何可能的情况。 如果发生任何情况,您将能够以更低的成本更快地恢复。

Table of contents

Table of contents

What you’ll want to think about

The decision to deploy your CMS on-premises or host it in the cloud is an important one. Whether you’re adopting your first digital experience platform, migrating to a new one, or upgrading a current one, here are 13 factors to consider before making your decision.

1. Scalability

If your company has a high volume of visitors or seasonal campaigns and events, you’ll need flexibility to adjust bandwidth and computing capacity. Otherwise, your customers will be blocked from interacting with you right when you’re looking to engage with them.

With an on-premises solution, you’ll need to invest in additional servers, which will probably not be used outside of those peak periods. A cloud-based solution will let you automatically scale based on demand, and you’ll usually only have to pay for what you actually use.

2. Geographical requirements

If your customers are located in a large geographic area and you’re going to show all of them the same general content, an on-premises solution connected to data centers could be all you need.

But if you’re investing in a new digital experience platform, you’re likely doing so because you want to deliver personalized experiences to your customers. For targeted content to smaller groups across multiple locations, a cloud-based solution can offer better speed and performance.

3. Quality assurance and user acceptance testing

Some cloud solutions offer a richer testing environment than you’ll get with on-premises deployment. You can create high-volume testing scenarios, which is useful if you tend to have sudden bursts of traffic on your websites.

An on-premises solution will allow your testers to work in a stable environment that takes advantage of your existing technology assets. If your testing methodologies are designed for a fixed environment with few spikes in traffic, then the peak traffic testing that you’d get with the cloud may not be essential for you.

4. Application feature deployment

Digital experience platforms often contain new features. But whether your CMS and DXP is hosted on-premises or in the cloud, upgrading and patching it takes planning, resourcing, and testing.

With an on-premises solution, you’re in total control of upgrades, but you’re also responsible for everything — including when things go wrong. With a software-as-a-service (SaaS) solution, your provider handles the updates entirely for you and implements them at the same time for all customers. Platform-as-a-service (PaaS) and Infrastructure-as-a-service (IaaS) environments are a happy medium, giving you control over when updates happen so you can properly do testing.

5. Speed of deployment

If you don’t need to spend time building infrastructure for scalability, your time to market will be shorter. This is where a cloud solution can be really advantageous — because in an experience-driven market, the first to get to market usually wins.

6. Three- to five-year growth strategy

Is your organization expecting to grow quickly in the next three to five years? Do you have seasonal or industry-wide volatility? If you answered yes to either of these questions, you’ll want the instant scalability that a cloud solution provides.

A cloud solution means you’ll be able to scale up if you’re growing or scale down if things don’t go as expected — which could mean substantial savings you wouldn’t otherwise get with on-premises deployment.

7. Cost

When you calculate the total cost of your digital experience platform, the price tag of the software is only one part of the equation.

If you’re thinking of hosting on-premises, you’ll need to factor in the cost of additional servers, operating expenses for deploying, configuring, and maintaining the infrastructure, and higher recurring costs for IT. With a cloud solution, you’ll likely have lower upfront costs and fewer capital expenditures.

8. Systems integration and compatibility

This is one area where on-premises deployment will offer significant advantages. You’ll have control over the implementation process, and you’ll probably find it easier to integrate your systems, use your development tools, and connect to your data. With cloud solutions, you’ll have less control and will need to put more energy and thought into integrating your data systems.

9. Development and DevOps

With on-premises deployment, your developers will have more control, and there will be less impact on their operations. However, some cloud deployment providers can mold their product to your DevOps environment and adapt it to your existing development standards.

10. Data security and privacy

If you decide to deploy your CMS on-premises, your data will remain on your own servers and will be as secure as your IT team makes it. The cloud means your data will be travelling more, but cloud services often use more secure technology and stricter privacy policies than you might be using at your company.

11. International data compliance

If you do business internationally, your company has to comply with data regulations that differ based on each country and industry. Working with a cloud provider eliminates the headache of compliance, as providers tend to adhere to the most stringent international and industry regulations.

12. Availability

With an on-premises solution, you’ll need to make sure you have the additional servers and hook-ups to data centers so you can serve large audiences. A cloud solution means you’ll need an always-on internet connection and a service provider that’s committed to rapidly fixing outages.

13. Replication, redundancy, and disaster recovery

Cloud solutions offer a clear advantage in the unlikely event of a worst-case scenario. Because cloud solutions are spread over several data centers and regularly back up your data, your online presence can stay entirely intact despite whatever might be happening at your headquarters. If anything should happen, you’ll be able to recover faster and at a fraction of the cost.