Table of contents

Table of contents

快速洞察

使用数字相关性地图会建立一个结构,为您的每个重要客户群体提供极具吸引力的体验,培育与客户的关系朝着购买的方向发展,并激发客户对品牌的忠诚。

第 1 章

数字相关性地图规划有何作用

要进行有效的个性化营销,能够满足甚至预测客户的需求比以往任何时候都更加重要。 组织需要采用一种结构化的方法来打造最密切相关的体验。 数字相关性地图 (DRM) 可帮助您开发最有效的个性化技术,为打造这些体验提供有力支持。

数字相关性地图的重要性

在客户决策过程的每个阶段,您都希望客户获得适合其人物特征模型或客户群体的品牌体验(当然,客户也希望如此)。 顾名思义,数字相关性地图向您展示如何为关键客户群体创建最密切相关的内容。

客户旅程规划练习将帮助您最终使客户更快地完成其决策和购买之旅。 客户将在合适的时间通过他们的首选渠道收到合适的内容,其中包含了预测客户需求的合适行动号召。

由于您在帮助客户满足其需求方面做得非常出色,同时也展现了您非常了解他们,因此您会获得客户对贵品牌的宝贵信任和忠诚。

避开这一步可能会导致失败

您当然可以选择不进行数字相关性地图练习。 但是如果不执行这一步,您最终提供的可能是通用的内容,无法以任何个性化或有意义的方式与客户群体建立联系,这与您追求个性化的初衷背道而驰。

如果内容无法有效地引导客户增加互动,并提高转化率,那么内容就毫无意义。 但是,竞争对手的内容可能并非如此,因为许多品牌都在全力投入个性化竞争中以争取客户的信赖。* DRM 是制定有效个性化策略的基础,因为它会为您提供一个清晰、按重要性排列、有明确目标且一致的内容营销流程。

* 94%的营销人员正在致力于打造个性化的客户体验。

-“全新的个性化时代: 超级连接的客户体验,”

, Martech Today,2018 年。

获得内部利益相关方的支持

一些内部利益相关方可能会阻碍此过程,声称您已经掌握可以利用的营销调研信息。 虽然这是非常好的信息,但是仅依靠它并不足够。 虽然 DRM 练习需要一些额外的工作量、时间投入和成本,但是它可以为您提供以下几项关键优势:

  • 将营销工作重点放在带来 80% 互动的 20% 内容上
  • 获得有关创新产品/服务的洞察信息
  • 整个组织在改进客户体验方面保持一致
  • 减少“随机的内容行为”
  • 使内容开发人员能够专注于客户意向,以及适用于生命周期中每个阶段的目标和行动号召
  • 帮助确定测试的位置和内容,以提高互动程度和转化率
  • 确定缺少的内容和功能,以及它们的最佳渠道
  • 加快客户的旅程

DRM 练习应该不会持续超过几周,而且如果团队规模较大,只需花费几天时间。 此过程在工作量和成本方面与可用性研究或大型调研工作相当。

第 2 章

第 1 步: 划分客户群体

大多数组织都会关注一组特定用户,这些用户是现有客户和潜在客户。 根据类似的特征和行为,例如意向、心理触发因素和需求,这些用户可以分成多个群体,帮助您更好地理解他们。如果您想要与他们建立联系和互动,这一步是必不可少的。

在开始进行个性化时,请专注于确定您最有机会与其互动的最大客户群体。 根据意向来识别最具潜力的用户并描述其特征后,您可以创建合适的内容,从而带来最大程度的互动、建立信任并朝着转化的方向培育用户关系。

第 3 章

第 2 步: 规划客户旅程

典型的客户旅程 

客户旅程是客户在其生命周期中经历的完整系列体验,近年来变得相当复杂,客户使用一系列渠道和触点与您的品牌及其他访问者互动。 除了这种复杂性外,无论您提供哪种产品或服务,大多数客户旅程都遵循类似的路线:  感知、研究、评估、购买、使用、拥护。

虽然这条路线在互联网流行之前或多或少相同,但如今同样的旅程可能涉及各种互动,例如查看和研究您网站上的内容,浏览您推送的社交媒体贴文,使用您的移动应用,与竞争对手的网站进行比较,以及研究评价等活动。

利用客户旅程带来更好的体验 

毫无疑问,客户在互动旅程中处于掌控地位。 但是,通过识别他们与品牌互动方式上的相似性,然后提供全程帮助他们的体验,您将可在创造终身客户的同时实现营销目标。

了解客户旅程中的每个阶段非常重要,这样您就可以评估每个阶段是否拥有合适的渠道、合适的信息和合适的内容。 您的规划流程将确保您规划好所有阶段,并帮助您识别各种提升客户体验的机会。

第 4 章

第 3 步: 创建数字相关性地图

DRM 会收集与客户旅程中每个阶段的主要客户群体相对应的的内容和功能。 完成 DRM 有助于确保您的数字渠道上具有最重要的内容。 对于后期针对所有类型的个性化进行有明确目标的内容规划而言,这一步也是至关重要的。

创建 DRM 为内部保持一致并专注于外部用户提供了机会。 您的 DRM 对贵组织而言是独一无二的,但是我们建议您从我们在此处概述的基本方法着手,然后在必要时添加。

如需获得更多洞察信息,并深入了解为组织开发数字相关性地图所涉及的步骤,请下载我们撰写的白皮书

Table of contents

Table of contents

Quick insight

Using a Digital Relevancy Map establishes a structure to provide each of your top customer segments with engaging experiences that nurture them toward purchase and inspire loyalty.

Chapter 1

What Digital Relevancy Mapping delivers

Being able to address, and even anticipate, customer needs is more important than ever for effective personal marketing. Organizations need a structured approach to create the most relevant experiences. A Digital Relevancy Map (DRM) helps you develop the most effective personalization techniques for supporting those experiences.

The importance of a Digital Relevancy Map

At every stage in their decision journey, you want your customers to have experiences with your brand that fit their personas or their segments (and naturally, so do they). As the name suggests, a Digital Relevancy Map shows you how to create the most relevant content for your key segments.

The mapping exercise will help you to ultimately move your customers through their decision and buying journey more quickly. They’ll receive the right content, at the right time, in their preferred channel, and with the right calls-to-action that anticipate their needs.

And since you’ll have done such an outstanding job helping customers fulfil their needs while demonstrating you understand them, they’ll give your brand their precious trust and loyalty in return.

Sidestepping it may lead to a dead end

Of course, you can opt to skip doing the Digital Relevancy Map exercise. But without it, you could end up delivering generic content that doesn’t connect with your customer segments in any personal or meaningful way — and isn’t the quest for personalization what brought you here in the first place?

If your content isn’t effectively guiding customers toward increased engagement and conversion, what is it doing? Your competitors’ content probably is, as many brands are going all-in on the personalization race to win customers’ hearts and minds.* DRMs are the foundation for an effective personalization strategy because they give you a clear, prioritized, focused, and aligned content marketing process.

*94% of marketers are seeking to enable personalized customer experiences.

- “A new era of personalization: The hyperconnected customer experience,”

, Martech Today, 2018.

Getting the inside onside

Some of your internal stakeholders may throw up roadblocks to this process by claiming you’ve already got marketing research to work with. That’s great information to have, but it’s not enough on its own. While it demands some extra effort, time commitment, and cost, the DRM exercise will give you several critical advantages:

  • Focus marketing work on the 20% of content that is responsible for 80% of engagement
  • Gain insights regarding innovative offerings
  • Gain organizational alignment around improving the customer experience
  • Reduce “random acts of content”
  • Enable content developers to focus on customer intent, as well as the appropriate goals and CTAs for each stage in the lifecycle
  • Help identify where and what to test to improve engagement and conversion rates
  • Identify missing content and functionality, as well as the optimal channel for them
  • Accelerate customers through their journey

The DRM exercise should not last more than a few weeks and will only take a few days of work for the broader team. The process is equivalent in effort and cost to a usability study or a large survey effort.

Chapter 2

Step 1: Forming customer segments

Most organizations have a specific set of users they focus on as current and potential customers. Based on similar characteristics and behaviors, such as intent, psychological triggers, and needs, these users can be divided into segments to help you better understand them — which is essential if you want to connect and engage with them.

When starting out with personalization, focus on identifying the biggest segments where you have the most opportunity to engage. With the highest-potential users identified and characterized according to their intent, you can then create content that will generate the most engagement, build trust, and nurture them toward conversion.

Chapter 3

Step 2: Mapping the customer journey

What a typical customer journey looks like 

Customer journeys — the complete series of experiences customers go through during their lifecycle — have become fairly complex in recent years, with customers using an array of channels and touchpoints to interact with your brand and their peers. That complexity aside, and regardless of the product or service you offer, most customer journeys follow a similar route:  Awareness, Research, Evaluation, Purchase, Usage, Advocacy.

While this route would have been more or less the same before the internet, that same journey today might involve interactions like viewing and researching content on your website, browsing your social media feeds, using your mobile app, comparing with competitors’ websites, and researching reviews, among other activities.

Using the customer journey to drive better experiences 

Customers are unquestionably the ones in the driver’s seat on their engagement journey. But by identifying similarities in how they engage with your brand and then providing them with experiences that help them along the way, you’ll achieve your marketing directives while creating lifelong customers.

It’s important to understand each stage in the customer journey so you can evaluate whether you have the right channel, right message, and right content for each stage. Your planning process will ensure you have all stages mapped and help you identify opportunities to enhance the experiences you provide.

Chapter 4

Step 3: Creating Your Digital Relevancy Map

A DRM captures the content and functionality appropriate for your major segments at each stage in their customer journey. Completing the DRM helps ensure you have the most important content on your digital channels. It’s also critical for focused content planning for all types of personalization later on.

The creation of the DRM represents an opportunity to build internal alignment and focus on the external user. Your DRM is unique to your organization, but we recommend that you start with the basic approach we’ve outlined here and then add to it later as necessary.

For more insights and to dig deeper into the steps involved in developing a Digital Relevancy Map for your organization, download our white paper.