跳转到主要内容

Sitecore 个性化

适用于真实案例的个性化专业技巧

打造卓越的客户体验是成功的关键,而这一切都始于设身处地为客户着想。 以下是个性化专家提供的一些真实场景和技巧。

目录

目录

快速洞察

许多公司正在收集大量数据,但是它们如何使用这些数据? 如果您正在收集数据,则应以有意义的方式使用数据。

第 1 章

对于提高个性化的专业建议

1. 向您的客户表明您了解他们的需求

当今的消费者非常重视卓越的体验,正如重视他们要购买的实际产品或服务一样。 设想一下,当您在网站上购物时,您期望至少获得一次完美的体验。 首先是准确找到您正在寻找的内容,了解其他访问者的评价以确保您获得最佳产品,并享受顺畅的结账体验。

在此之后,您自然期望快速发货和准确更新有关所购产品何时到货的信息,希望退货流程没有任何麻烦,并获得针对您可能感兴趣的其他产品提供的个性化建议。 作为消费者,这是我们在购买所有产品时期望获得的那种个性化、有意义的体验。

而且,由于为企业购买的人们已经习惯于在个人生活中获得卓越的消费者体验,因此对相关体验的要求也已经延伸到 B2B 和 B2B2C 关系。 事实上,67% 的企业买家表示,他们为了获得类似于消费者的体验而转向其他供应商。*因此,无论您是向消费者还是企业销售产品,至关重要的是向客户表明您了解他们的需求,让他们知道他们对您来说不仅仅是一个数字。

* 联网客户状况报告(State of the Connected Customer) ,Salesforce Research,2018 年 6 月

2. 为您的客户提供信任您的理由

信任正迅速成为新的货币。 当客户进入某种产品或服务的市场时,他们有大量的选项可供选择。 他们没有理由选择他们不信任的公司。

那么如何与客户建立信任? 无论您的业务是什么,您都必须向潜在客户展现向您提供数据的价值。 换句话说,您需要阐明他们可以获得什么作为回报。 除了明确告知他们的个人信息很安全(并确保确实如此!)之外,您还需要以向客户表明您了解他们的方式使用这些信息。 如何做到? 帮助他们获得他们需要的东西,并建议如何从他们购买的产品中获得最大收益。

例如,如果您请求潜在客户为他们自己创建档案以换取折扣,请不要将信息丢弃到数据库中并遗忘它。 相反,请使用这些信息来推荐其他产品或服务,或者更好地了解他们可能感兴趣的内容。 他们会对选择与您分享他们的数据感到很高兴,因为您正在使用这些数据让他们的生活更轻松。

3. 不要浪费客户的时间

我们都曾经历过以下情况: 您打电话给客户服务人员,按号码并回答多个问题以通过所有决策树,当最终与某位在线坐席通话时,您被要求重复刚才提供的所有信息。 或者,为了找到您需要的产品,必须筛选一大堆不相关的产品?

客户获得所需产品/服务花费的时间越多,您就越可能使他们感到挫败,并最终失去他们的业务。 正因如此,诸如渐进式剖析、显示相关优惠以及考虑客户旅程等事项非常重要。 您需要设身处地为客户着想。 例如,您会在哪里查找有关贵公司销售的产品的信息? 您将需要什么信息? 如果您迫切需要该产品,找到这些信息的最简单方法是什么?

向客户展现您尊重他们非常有限的时间是至关重要的。 向客户提供他们所需的有关您产品的信息,这样他们就不必到别处询问或寻找。 让他们可以非常轻松地找到自己所寻找的内容。 这是向客户展现您了解它们的另一种好方法,它最终将帮助您打造卓越的客户体验。

4. 推荐下一项最佳操作

客户旅程并不止于购买。 您需要培养客户关系,并向他们表明您关心他们对购物的满意程度。 例如,您可以提供视频、内容下载或其他任何有助于他们充分利用其产品或服务的内容。 您需要引导他们执行下一项最佳操作,而不仅仅是提供另一种可供购买的产品。

这将有助于客户建立忠诚度,并让他们知道您个人关心他们,当他们购买您提供的其他产品的时机来临时,他们很可能会坚持向您购买。 因为当他们获得的体验如此有吸引力时,他们何必去别处寻找呢?

5. 在客户旅程的每个阶段增加价值

请思考您的整个客户旅程。 记录关键的客户时刻,然后分析客户在这些时刻如何通过人员、流程、技术和数据与您互动。 通过这样做,您将发现向客户推荐下一项最佳操作的机会。

例如,假设贵公司销售冰箱。 您知道客户通常会在计算机上对这种大宗购物进行研究。 现在,假设某个客户在凌晨 5 点通过移动设备访问您的网站。 您可以从这种非典型的互动中推断出什么?

首先,您可能会怀疑该客户因冰箱漏水而醒来,并且立即拿起手机,想要弄清楚如何处理这个紧急情况,之后才从厨房出来。 但是您如何能确切知道呢? 请询问他们! 如果他们告诉您这是一个紧急情况,您可以通过提供有关如何缓解紧急情况的建议来增加与他们互动的价值 -例如拔下冰箱电源、尽可能地关闭箱门等等。

通过考虑客户在产品上可能遇到的不同情况,以及他们与您互动时可能具有的心态,您可以找到为客户旅程的每个阶段增加价值的机会。

随着消费者开始意识到个人数据的价值,他们期待这些数据能换来更好的体验。 使用这些数据提供更好客户体验的公司最终将获胜。

第 2 章

如何为匿名访问者提供个性化体验

有些人就是喜欢在购物时保持匿名。 从表面上看,这可能会让人觉得很难了解他们是谁,或者他们在寻找什么,但是实际上,仅通过访问者浏览网站的行为,就可以获得关于访问者的许多信息。

例如,假设您经营一家全国性的宠物用品商店。 当客户第一次访问您的网站时,您可以了解其地理位置等基本信息。 仅借助于这一项数据,您就可以开始进行个性化设置,向他们提供在一年中的这个时间受该地区其他人欢迎的产品。

如果您设法让客户填写表格,请确保表格简单快捷。 例如,表格可以简单地询问访问者的姓名以及他们拥有的宠物类型。

虽然这看起来很简单,但您可以使用这些信息做很多事情,使您的网站与该访问者更密切相关。 除了称呼他们的姓名之外,您还可以显示特定于每种宠物的内容,或更改图像以反映客户是否养有狗或猫。 让您的网站营造出一种与访问者对话的感觉。

第 3 章

Lova’s Furniture 公司的客户体验

下面介绍了向 Lova’s Furniture 购买新沙发的真实案例。* 一对夫妇正在翻新地下室,打算将其变成一个适合十几岁孩子聚会的场所。 他们到处购物,查看沙发、价格和质量。

在征求朋友和邻居的建议后,这对夫妇前往 Lova’s Furniture 的一间家具店,他们与售货员进行了非常好的互动。 他们画了一个平面图,并向售货员详细介绍了他们的家庭、装修计划以及物色新沙发的原因。 在比较所有选项后,他们订购了 Lova’s Furniture 的一款米色沙发,并且被告知新沙发将在 6 到 8 周内送达。

在购买沙发与交货之间的时间里,这对夫妇基本上被晾在一边,因此他们对新沙发的兴奋开始消退。 他们开始转而关注地下室翻新工程的其他细节,甚至开始有点沮丧,因为他们不知道沙发何时到货。 Lova’s Furniture 仅在发送最终交货通知和几周后交付沙发时联系了他们。

Lova's Furniture 在顾客进入家具店时为顾客提供了非常好的体验。 虽然没有出现任何差错并且沙发按时交货,但是我们可以说 Lova’s Furniture 错过了在 6 到 8 周的交货时间内与客户互动的重要机会。

*为保持匿名,已更改公司名称。

Lova’s Furniture 本来可以做什么

如果利用这对夫妇自愿提供的信息,Lova’s Furniture 本来可以在他们购买沙发与交货之间的时间里与他们保持联系,以提供良好的体验并培养客户对其品牌的忠诚度。 下面列出了他们本来可以做的事情:

  • 提供最新的生产和发货状态
  • 通过电子邮件发送新沙发的照片,以便客户可以在社交媒体上分享
  • 发送沙发生产过程的多张照片,以及 Lova’s Furniture 沙发生产团队的一张图片
  • 在内容管理系统中创建一个与翻新有关的人物特征模型,以预测客户的行为
  • 发送有关本季时尚趋势和颜色的内容
  • 以特价提供可能适合其翻新项目的家具

如何提升客户体验

此外,Lova’s Furniture 还可以采取更多措施,充分利用亲朋好友的建议所带来的信任。 下面列举了他们可以采取的一些方法:

  • 创建一个让客户可以自愿成为品牌大使的环境(例如网上社区)
  • 鼓励客户在线分享他们的体验
  • 分享用户生成的内容(例如,客户发布自己开心地坐在新沙发上的照片)

个性化意味着设身处地为客户着想。例如: 什么样的信息或优惠对您有用? 如何才能快速找到您所需的信息? 您希望您的数据用于什么方面? 从客户的角度回答这些问题将有助于您打造更有意义、更个性化的体验。

已经是 Sitecore 的客户?

查找培训、用户社区、文档、咨询和支持信息。

获得客户支持服务

查找您附近的活动

使用我的当前位置

更改我的位置

应用

Table of contents

Table of contents

Quick insight

Companies are capturing a lot of data, but what are they offering in return? If you’re capturing data, you should be using it in meaningful ways.

Chapter 1

Expert advice for better personalization

1. Show your customers that you understand their needs

Today's consumers value a great experience as much as they value the actual product or service they are buying. Think about it: when you shop on a website, you expect nothing less than a perfect experience. It starts with finding exactly what you're looking for, accessing peer reviews to make sure you’re getting the best possible product, and enjoying a smooth checkout experience.

After that, you naturally expect fast delivery and pinpoint-accurate updates about when your purchase will be in your hands, along with a hassle-free return process and customized recommendations for other products you might be interested in. As consumers, this is the kind of personalized, meaningful experience that we've come to expect for all our purchases.

And since people buying for businesses have gotten used to great consumer experiences in their personal lives, the demand for relevant experiences has also spilled over to B2B and B2B2C relationships. In fact, 67% of business buyers say they have switched vendors for a more consumer-like experience.* So, whether you sell to consumers or businesses, it’s critical to show your customers they're more than just a number to you by showing them you understand their needs.

* State of the Connected Customer, Salesforce Research, June 2018

2. Give your customers a reason to trust you

Trust is quickly becoming the new currency. When customers are in the market for a product or service, they have an overwhelming amount of options to choose from. There’s no reason they would choose a company they don’t trust over one they do.

So how do you build trust with your customers? No matter what your business does, you have to demonstrate to potential customers the value of giving their data to you. In other words, you need to clarify what they get in exchange. Beyond the obvious of telling them their personal information is secure (and ensuring it is!), you also need to use it in ways that show customers you understand them. How? By helping them get what they need and recommending ways to get the most out of their purchase.

For example, if you ask potential customers to create a profile for themselves in exchange for a discount, don’t throw the information into a database and forget about it. Use the information to recommend other products or services, or a better deal on something you know they could be interested in. They’ll be happy they chose to share their data with you because you’re using it to make their life easier.

3. Don't waste your customers’ time

We've all been there: You call up customer service, punch the numbers and answer the questions to make it through all the decision trees, and then you’re asked to repeat all of the information you just provided when you finally get to speak to a live agent. Or how about having to sift through a long page of mostly irrelevant products just to find the one you need?

The more time it takes for your customer to get what they need, the more likely you are to frustrate them and eventually lose their business. That's why things like progressive profiling, showing relevant offers, and thinking about your customer's journey are so important. You need to think about what you would do in their shoes. For example, where would you look for information about the products your company sells? What information would you need? And what would be the easiest way to find that information if you needed this product urgently?

Showing your customers that you respect their very limited time is critical. Give them the information they need about your products, so they don’t have to ask or look elsewhere. Make it extremely easy to find what they’re looking for. It’s another great way to show your customers that you understand them, and it will ultimately help you deliver a great customer experience.

4. Recommend the next best action

The customer journey doesn’t end with a purchase. You need to nurture customer relationships and show them you care about how satisfied they are with their purchase. For example, you could provide video, content downloads, or anything else that will help them make the most of their product or service. Instead of just offering another product to buy, you need to guide them toward the next best action to take.

This will help create loyalty with your customers and let them know you care about them personally — and when the time comes for them to buy another product you offer, chances are they'll stick with you. Because why would they look elsewhere when their experience has been so compelling?

5. Add value at each stage of the customer journey

Think about your entire customer journey. Document key customer moments, and then analyze how your customers interact with you through people, processes, technology, and data at those moments. By doing so, you’ll discover opportunities to recommend next best actions to your customer.

For example, suppose your company sells refrigerators. You know your customers typically do their research about this major purchase on their computer. Now suppose a customer goes to your website on their mobile device at 5 am. What can you infer from this atypical interaction?

For starters, you might suspect that this customer has woken up to a leaking refrigerator and immediately grabbed their phone to figure out how to deal with this emergency, before they even left the kitchen. But how can you know for sure? Just ask them! If they tell you it’s an emergency, you can add value to their interaction with you by offering advice on what to do to mitigate the urgent situation — for example, unplugging the refrigerator, keeping the door shut as much as possible, and so on.

By thinking about the different scenarios your customers might encounter with your products and the mindset they might be in when they interact with you, you can find opportunities to add value to each stage of the customer journey.

As consumers start to realize the value of their data, they’ll be expecting more in exchange for it. Companies that use that data to provide a better customer experience will ultimately win.

,

Chapter 2

How to personalize for anonymous visitors

Some people simply prefer to remain anonymous when shopping around. On the surface, this can make it seem difficult to know who they are, or what they're looking for, but there's a lot they're actually telling you just by browsing your website.

For instance, suppose you run a national pet supply store. When a customer visits your site for the first time, you can learn basic information like their geolocation. With just that one piece of data, you can start personalizing by offering them products that are popular with other people in the region at that time of year.

If you manage to get the customer to fill out a form, make sure the form is quick and simple. For example, the form could simply ask for the visitor's name and what kind of pet they have.

Though it may seem very basic, there’s a lot you can do with that information to make your site more relevant to that person. Beyond just greeting them by name, you can show content that’s specific to each kind of pet, or change the images to reflect whether the customer has a dog or a cat. Make your website feel like it’s speaking to them.

Chapter 3

The Lova’s Furniture customer experience

Consider this real-life example of buying a new sofa from Lova’s Furniture.* A couple is renovating their basement to turn it into a hangout space for their teenage kids. They do their shopping around, which includes looking at sofas, prices, and quality.

After asking friends and neighbors for recommendations, the couple visits a Lova’s Furniture store, and they have an excellent experience with the sales clerk. They fill out a floor plan and give the clerk a lot of information about their family, their renovation plans, and why they are looking for a new sofa. After comparing all their options, they order a beige sofa from Lova’s Furniture, and are told their new sofa will arrive in 6 to 8 weeks.

Between the purchase and the sofa delivery, the couple is essentially left alone, and that’s where their excitement about their new sofa begins to fade. They start to move on to other details of their renovation project, and they even start to get a bit frustrated not knowing exactly when their sofa will arrive. The only contact from Lova’s Furniture is the eventual delivery notice and delivery of the sofa many weeks later.

Lova’s Furniture provided a great experience to these customers when they came into the store. And while nothing went wrong and the couch was delivered on time, you could say that Lova’s Furniture missed out on a huge opportunity to engage their customer in the 6 to 8 weeks of delivery time.

*Name changed for anonymity.

What Lova’s Furniture could have done

By leveraging the information the couple voluntarily provided, Lova’s Furniture could have kept in contact with them during the time between purchase and delivery to provide a great experience and create loyal customers. Here’s what they could have done:

  • Provide up-to-date manufacturing and shipping status
  • Email a photo of the new sofa, so the customer could share it on social media
  • Send pictures of the sofa as it’s being constructed, and a picture of the Lova’s Furniture team building it
  • Create a renovation persona in their CMS to predict the customer’s behavior
  • Send content about this season’s trends and colors
  • Offer specials on furniture that might be appropriate for their renovation project

How to elevate the customer experience

Lova’s Furniture could also be doing more to tap into the trust created by peer recommendations. Here are some ways they could do that:

  • Create an environment where customers can be voluntary brand ambassadors (for example, an online community)
  • Encourage customers to share their experience online
  • Share user-generated content (for example, customers who post photos of themselves happily relaxing on their new sofa)

When it comes to personalization, put yourself in your customer’s shoes. What would be useful in terms of information or offers? How can you find the information you need quickly? What would you want your data to be used for? Answering these questions from your customer’s perspective will help you deliver a more meaningful, personalized experience.