第 1 章

为什么需要更深入的分析

衡量品牌在线营销成功与否的传统方法是衡量数量 - 点击量、转化量、新访问者数量等。 但这种方法有三个主要缺点。

首先,这些基本数量并不能说明客户对贵品牌的信任和投入程度。 其次,这种传统方法只考虑客户与贵网站的互动,而不是他们对贵品牌的完整多渠道体验。 第三,虽然转化率说明了一定程度的投入,但是现有的网站分析仪表板使营销人员难以提取这些信息。

借助于 Sitecore,您将彻底改变贵品牌了解客户的方式。 这是因为 Sitecore 专注于打造完整的客户体验,整合来自电子邮件、移动应用 APP、社交媒体和面对面互动的数据。 它让您可以轻松了解客户在关键时刻对贵品牌的互动和投入程度。

第 2 章

Sitecore Experience Analytics 的作用

借助于 Sitecore Experience Analytics,您不仅可以像传统分析一样衡量数量,还可以衡量客户互动的质量。 通过将两者结合起来并探索它们之间的关系,您可以更深入地了解客户对您品牌的总体体验。

Sitecore Experience Analytics 使用一种名为“互动价值”的指标。 当您设置 Sitecore 时,您将根据每项操作对帮助您实现目标的影响程度,为每种类型的转化分配不同的互动价值分数。

例如,下载产品数据表的互动价值分数可能是 10,而更有可能达成销售的操作(例如与在线代理交谈)可能会被分配 100 分。 当访问者浏览您的网站并与其进行互动时,他们会累积互动价值分数,并获得累加的分数。 由于不仅了解发生多少次转化,而且了解这些转化如何让您更接近实现目标,您可以准确了解应将营销预算用于何处,以获得最大程度的影响。

另一个重要的 Sitecore Experience Analytics 指标是“每次访问的价值”,它让您可以更好地了解营销效果。 此指标表示每次访问的平均互动价值,您可以使用它来查看营销活动在不同平台上的效果。

Sitecore Experience Analytics 的作用

例如,假设您在 Google 和 Bing 上运行两个相同的营销活动。 在 Sitecore 中,您会发现来自 Bing 的访问者获得的互动价值是来自 Google 的访问者的两倍。 这意味着您在 Bing 上投放的广告为其吸引的客户获得更多的每次访问价值,并且 Bing 为您的营销活动提供了更高质量的潜在客户。

第 3 章

互动价值用于衡量互动的质量

互动是信任和投入的标志。 每当客户投入以换取某些东西(比如填写表格以订阅新闻稿)时,表明客户对贵品牌的信任度提高。 随着他们对贵品牌的信任度提高,他们变得更加忠诚。

以首次访问贵网站的人为例。 这种互动几乎不需要信任和投入,因为它只是一种单向的信息传递。 因此,这种互动的质量或互动价值很低。 但是,假设该访客注册接收新闻稿。 该访客将获得更高的互动价值,因为他已表明对贵品牌提供的内容非常感兴趣。

而当访客花时间阅读您的新闻稿时,则表明他们对贵品牌变得更投入。 随着该周期重复进行,访客的互动价值变得越来越高,最终达成销售或实现您的任何战略目标。

通过使用互动价值功能,您可以对跨渠道营销举措进行同类比较。 因为当互动价值很高时,营收很可能会随之而来。

为客户的各种投入分配互动价值分数

贵网站的访问者可能对您的品牌有不同类型的投入,具体取决于您的业务。

例如,如果您经营一家网上商店,销售是一种明显的投入。 在这种情况下,您可以将互动价值设置为购买金额。 销售得越多,投入就越大。

其他类型的投入包括请求与销售人员通话,通过电子邮件或在线交谈等方式提问,或者创建帐户等。 这些投入被称为“事务性的投入”,因为它们需要更深层次的投入,而不仅仅是查看页面或下载内容。

您可以根据访问者帮助您实现最终目标的可能性,为这些投入分配互动价值。 例如,如果您的目标是增加销售额,您可能希望为订阅新闻稿分配互动价值 25 分,为申请演示分配 50 分,为申请报价分配 100分。

如果贵网站不具有显示某种事务性投入的互动机会,您可以为访问者浏览的特定页面或下载的特定内容资产设置互动价值。 但是,应谨慎使用这些“参考性的投入”,因为很难判断访问者是因其自己的需求而采取这些行动,还是因为您向他们做了大量的营销工作。 请仅在没有其他位置可分配互动价值时才使用参考性的投入。

为什么要将营销预算投入到某些渠道并盲目地希望获得最佳结果? 借助于 Sitecore 的互动价值功能,您可以确定资金可以最有效发挥作用的渠道。

第 4 章

互动价值如何使您的营销更有效

了解潜在客户的质量

想象一下这个非常真实的场景: 您在某项广告营销活动上投入了大量资金,在 Facebook 和 LinkedIn 上投放该广告营销活动。 您的网站流量快速增加,来自 Facebook 的访问者有 2,000 名,来自 LinkedIn 的访问者有 500 名。

如果使用传统的网站分析仪表板,您会得出两个结论:您的营销活动取得成功,因为您为网站带来了更多流量,而 Facebook 对于未来的营销活动而言是一项更好的投资,因为它带来了更多访问者。

但是借助于 Sitecore,您可以全面了解“互动价值”指标发生的情况。 尽管 Facebook 为您的网站带来了 4 倍的流量,但事实证明,这些潜在客户在业务目标方面的质量并不是那么好。

而另一方面,来自 LinkedIn 的访问者具有更高的互动价值分数,这意味着他们与您进行了更有意义的互动,并且对贵品牌的投入更多。 LinkedIn 每次访问的价值要高得多,因此现在您知道,您在 LinkedIn 上获得的投资回报更好,借助于这些信息,您可以在未来的营销活动中充分利用营销支出。

找到要优化的内容

您还可以使用“互动价值”和“每次访问的价值”指标来了解内容的效果。 通常情况下,传统指标会告诉您每个页面的访问量、平均持续时间和跳出率。 但是这些信息并不能反映情况的全貌。

例如,如果您发现主页访问量比网站上任何其他网页的访问量多,那么您可能会认为这是表现最好的网页。 但是如果使用 Sitecore 仔细审视,您会发现每次访问价值实际上非常低,仅为 2.66。 另一方面,您最有效的页面(称为基准页面)每次访问的价值为 19.51。

找到要优化的内容

通过更全面地了解您的网站和访问者,您获得可作为行动依据的两条洞察信息。 首先,您现在知道应该使用测试或个性化来优化主页,以提高每次访问的价值。 其次,您应该将更多的流量引导到基准页面,因为高价值表明它已经得到很好的优化,并有助您提高转化率。

使用档案来了解访问者的行为

借助于 Sitecore® Experience Platform (XP),您可以构建内容档案,以追踪用户在使用贵网站时的行为。 每个档案通常基于对网站的兴趣、产品类别、潜在客户得分和人物特征模型。人物特征模型是虚构的角色,代表网站访问者的典型行为和需求。

Sitecore 的内置报告将显示您的网站上有多少访问者与各种档案相匹配。 您可以利用此信息来了解每个受众群体的规模,以及每个受众群体在一段时间内的访问量。 在这里,您开始更多地了解您的访问者。

使用档案来了解访问者的行为

借助于内置的报告,您还可以深入挖掘并查看每个人物特征模型每次访问的价值。 您将能够轻松地查看哪些人物特征模型的互动程度已经很高,以及应该关注哪些人物特征模型以便进行优化。

例如,假设在您的各个人物特征模型中,您看到与“精明且互动程度高”人物特征模型匹配的访问者具有很高的互动程度,每次访问的价值很高。 与此同时,“电器”人物特征模型的网站访问者数量所占比例高得多,但是这些访问者每次访问的价值非常低。 在这种情况下,您需要专注于优化“电器”人物特征模型,以提高这些访问者的转化率并让其更多地投入到您的品牌。

使用档案来了解访问者的行为

第 5 章

使用 Path Analyzer 直观显示互动

借助于 Sitecore Path Analyzer,,您还可以通过另一种方式直观地了解网站访问者。 Path Analyzer 会根据每个人物特征模型在贵网站中的访问旅程生成一个地图,并使用颜色编码的节点来表示旅程中的每个点。 色谱的一端是绿色节点,这意味着互动价值很高。 另一端是红色节点,这意味着互动价值很低。 随着互动价值提高,节点也会变大。

使用 Path Analyzer 直观显示互动

Sitecore Path Analyzer 还让您可以使用 Page Analyzer 获得更深入的信息。 您可以使用这项可视化功能来了解哪些页面已在帮助您实现业务目标,以及哪些页面应该针对每个人物特征模型进行优化和改进个性化。

使用 Path Analyzer 直观显示互动

了解贵网站中未提供价值的位置

Sitecore Path Analyzer 地图的另一个重要特性是每个节点之间路径的宽度。 两个节点之间的线越宽意味着该路径上的流量越大。 因此,如果您看到一条宽路径具有红色节点,则意味着这条高流量路径无助于实现业务目标。 您需要重点关注这些路径,设法优化这些路径。

例如,如果某条路径从您的主页开始并且包含的节点完全为红色,则可能需要优化您的主页,为该人物特征模型移除或至少缩短该特定路径。 您需要让这类访问者能够更轻松地准确找到他们正在寻找的内容。 Path Analyzer 和 Page Analyzer 提供清晰的视觉提示,说明哪些方面有效、哪些方面无效,从而帮助您优化网站。

为什么应优化互动价值

互动价值确保您优化的目标是为贵组织创造最佳的最终结果。 在传统测试中,您的优化目标是提高点击次数或实现某些转化。 但在使用这种方法时,您致力于优化某个特定项目,实际上这可能不利于实现其他更重要的转化,而且您甚至不知道这一点。

由于互动价值与您的战略目标紧密相关,因此您知道您所优化的内容实际上会让您更接近实现目标。 此外,借助于 Path Analyzer 地图等工具,您可以确切地看到网站的哪些栏目需要改进,以及它们与更重要的转化之间的直接关联。

第 6 章

为什么 Experience Analytics 有利于营销取得成功

Sitecore Experience Analytics 会准确告诉您与高价值访问者互动的方式和位置,高价值访问者是最有可能成为客户的访问者。 如果没有这种深入的洞察信息,您就会错失机会,未能对信息进行个性化设置,并为客户提供密切相关的信息。

如果您想要更有效地进行营销,则必须能够结合客户与品牌互动的情境来与客户互动。 简而言之,您需要“获得”您的客户。 Experience Analytics 可帮助了解所有营销渠道中的客户,充分把握您本来可能错过的机会。

Chapter 1

Why you need deeper analytics

The traditional way to measure the success of your brand’s online marketing has been to measure quantity — how many clicks, conversions, new visitors, etc. But this approach has three major shortcomings.

First, these basic quantities don’t tell you much about the trust and commitment your customers feel toward your brand. Second, this traditional approach only takes into account your customers’ interactions with your website, rather than their full multichannel experience with your brand. And third, while conversion rates indicate a certain level of commitment, existing web analytics dashboards have made it hard for marketers to distill that information.

With Sitecore, you’re transforming the very way your brand understands its customers. That’s because Sitecore focuses on the full customer experience — integrating data from email, mobile apps, social media, and in-person interactions. And it lets you easily understand your customers’ level of engagement and commitment to your brand at key moments.

Chapter 2

What Sitecore Experience Analytics does

With Sitecore Experience Analytics, you’ll be measuring for quantity as with traditional analytics, but also for the quality of your customers’ interactions. By combining the two and exploring the relationship between them, you get a deeper understanding of your customers’ entire experience with your brand.

Sitecore Experience Analytics uses a metric called Engagement Value. When you set up Sitecore, you’ll assign a different Engagement Value score to each type of conversion based on the amount of impact each action has on helping you reach your goals.

For example, downloading a product sheet might have an Engagement Value of 10, while something with more potential to lead to a sale, like chatting with a live agent, might be assigned 100. As visitors go through your site and interact with it, they collect points and earn a cumulative Engagement Value. By understanding not just how many conversions happen, but also how those conversions bring you closer to your goals, you can understand exactly where to spend your marketing budget for greatest impact.

Another Sitecore Experience Analytics metric that gives better insight into your marketing performance is Value per Visit. This metric represents the average Engagement Value per visit, and you can use it to see how effective a campaign is on different platforms.

What Sitecore Experience Analytics does

For example, suppose you run two identical campaigns on Google and Bing. In Sitecore, you see that visitors coming from Bing earn twice as much Engagement Value as those from Google. This means that your ad on Bing has more Value per Visit for the customer it attracts, and that Bing is providing higher quality leads for your campaign.

Chapter 3

Engagement Value measures the quality of interactions

Engagement is a sign of trust and commitment. Every time a customer makes a commitment in exchange for something (like filling out a form to get a newsletter), it shows they have more trust in your brand. And as their trust in you builds, they become more loyal.

Take, for example, a person visiting your website for the first time. This interaction requires little trust and commitment, since it’s just a one-way transfer of information. So the quality, or Engagement Value, of that interaction is low. But suppose that person signs up for your newsletter. That visitor would receive a higher Engagement Value score because they’ve indicated they are very interested in what your brand has to offer.

And when they take the time to read your newsletter, it shows they are becoming more committed to your brand. As the cycle repeats, the visitor’s Engagement Value score gets higher and higher, eventually leading to a sale or whatever your strategic objective may be.

With Engagement Value, you have a way to do an apples-to-apples comparison of your cross-channel marketing initiatives. Because where there is high Engagement Value, revenue is likely to follow.

,

Assigning Engagement Value to commitments

A visitor to your website can show different kinds of commitment to your brand, depending on your business.

For example, if you run an online store, a sale is a clear commitment. In this case, you could set the Engagement Value to be the amount of the purchase. The more you sell, the larger the commitment.

Other types of commitments include requesting a sales call, asking a question via email or an online chat, or creating an account. These are known as “transactional commitments,” as they require a deeper commitment than just viewing a page or downloading something.

You would assign an Engagement Value to these commitments based on how likely it is that a visitor will then help you achieve your end-goal. For instance, if your goal is to increase sales, you might want to assign 25 Engagement Value points to signing up for a newsletter, 50 to requesting a demo, and 100 to requesting a quote.

If your site doesn’t have opportunities for engagement that show a transactional commitment, you can place the Engagement Value on a specific page being viewed or a specific asset being downloaded. These “referential commitments” should be used cautiously, however, because it can be hard to tell whether visitors are taking those actions because they want to or because you’ve put so much marketing effort into them. Only use referential commitments when there are no places to assign Engagement Value elsewhere.

Why sink your marketing budget into certain channels and blindly hope for the best? With Sitecore’s Engagement Value, you can pinpoint where your money will be most effective.

,

Chapter 4

How Engagement Value makes your marketing more effective

Understanding the quality of your leads

Imagine this very real scenario: You spend a substantial amount of money on an ad campaign, which you run on Facebook and LinkedIn. Your website sees a spike in traffic, with 2,000 visitors coming from Facebook and 500 from LinkedIn.

With a traditional web analytics dashboard, you would conclude two things: your campaign was successful since you drove more traffic to your site, and Facebook is a better investment for future campaigns since it brought more people.

But with Sitecore, you get a whole new insight into what’s happening with the Engagement Value metric. Even though Facebook drove 4x more traffic to your site, it turns out the quality of those leads in terms of your business goals wasn’t so great.

On the other hand, your visitors from LinkedIn had much higher Engagement Value scores, which means they had more meaningful interactions with you and are more committed to your brand. LinkedIn’s Value per Visit was much higher, so now you know your money was better spent on LinkedIn, and you can use that knowledge to maximize your marketing spend on future campaigns.

Finding which content to optimize

You can also use Engagement Value and Value per Visit metrics to understand how effective your content is. Normally, traditional metrics would tell you the number of visits, average duration, and bounce rate per page. But this information doesn’t tell the whole story.

For example, if you see that your homepage has the most visits of any page on your website, you might think this is your best-performing page. But by taking a closer look with Sitecore, you see the Value per Visit is actually very low, at 2.66. Meanwhile, your most effective page, known as the Benchmark page, has a Value per Visit of 19.51.

Finding which content to optimize

With this fuller understanding of your website and visitors, you have two actionable insights. First, you now know you should optimize your homepage using testing or personalization to increase the Value per Visit. And second, you should steer more traffic to the Benchmark page, because the high score indicates it’s already well optimized and will help you increase conversions.

Using profiles to understand visitor behavior

With Sitecore® Experience Platform (XP) you can build content profiles that track a person’s behavior as they use your website. Each profile is usually based on site interest, product categories, lead score, and personas, which are fictional characters that represent typical behaviors and needs of your site visitors.

Sitecore’s built-in reports will then show you how many visitors on your site match the various profiles. You can leverage this information to understand how big each segment is and how much traffic each one represents over time. Here, you start to get to know your visitors a bit more.

Using profiles to understand visitor behavior

With the built-in reports, you can also dig deeper and see the Value per Visit for each persona. You’ll be able to easily see which personas are already highly engaged and which ones you should focus on for optimization.

For example, suppose that among your personas, you see that people who match the “Smart and Engaged” persona are highly engaged, with a high Value per Visit. At the same time, the “Appliances” persona accounts for a much more substantial amount of your site visitors, but those visitors have a very low Value per Visit. In this case, you’d want to focus on optimizing the “Appliances” persona to drive more conversions and create more commitment toward your brand.

Using profiles to understand visitor behavior

Chapter 5

Visualizing engagement with the Path Analyzer

With the Sitecore Path Analyzer, you have an additional way to visually understand your site visitors. The Path Analyzer generates a map of each persona’s journey through your site and uses color-coded nodes to represent each point along their journey. At one end of the color spectrum are green nodes, which mean Engagement Value levels are high. At the other end are red nodes, which mean low Engagement Value levels. The size of the node also increases as the Engagement Value increases.

Visualizing engagement with the Path Analyzer

The Sitecore Path Analyzer also allows you to drill down with the Page Analyzer. You can use this visualization to understand which pages are already helping you toward your business goals, and which ones you should optimize and better personalize for each persona.

Visualizing engagement with the Path Analyzer

Understanding where your site is not providing value

Another important feature of Sitecore’s Path Analyzer maps is the width of the path between each node. A wider line between two nodes means there’s a higher amount of traffic on that path. So, if you see a wide path that also has red nodes, it means you have a high-traffic path that’s not working toward your business goals. You’ll want to focus on those paths and find ways to optimize them.

For example, if one path starts from your homepage and has entirely red nodes, it’s likely that your homepage needs to be optimized to remove, or at least decrease, that particular path for that persona. You’ll want to make it easier for that type of visitor to find exactly what they’re looking for. The Path and Page Analyzers provide clear visual cues for what’s working and what’s not to help you optimize your site.

Why you should optimize for Engagement Value

Engagement Value ensures you’re optimizing for what produces the best ultimate outcome for your organization. With traditional testing, you’d be optimizing for more click-throughs or certain conversions. But with that approach, your work to optimize one particular item might actually be detracting from other more important conversions — and you wouldn’t even know it.

Since Engagement Value is closely linked to your strategic objectives, you’ll know that what you’re optimizing will, in fact, bring you closer to reaching your goals. And with tools like the Path Analyzer maps, you can see exactly which parts of your website need improvement, and their direct correlation to more important conversions.

Chapter 6

Why Experience Analytics enables marketing success

Sitecore Experience Analytics tells you exactly how and where you’re engaging with high-value visitors — the ones who are most likely to become customers. Without this deep insight, you’re missing out on opportunities to personalize your message and provide your customers with relevant information.

If you want to be more effective with your marketing, you have to be able to engage customers in the context of their interaction with your brand. To put it simply, you need to “get” your customers. Experience Analytics helps you meet your customers where they are, across all your marketing channels, capitalizing on opportunities that you might otherwise miss.