跳转到主要内容

Sitecore 个性化

何为不合适的个性化以及如何解决此问题

并非所有个性化都很好、有价值或受到赞赏。 了解许多品牌陷入个性化陷阱的原因,以及如何让您所做的工作建立在坚实的基础上。

目录

目录

快速洞察

无论您的个性化工作未实现预期目标,还是您属于尚未开始个性化的 47% 品牌之一,请从小规模开始,专注于您最重要的受众。

第 1 章

个性化为什么会出错?

个性化是任何希望获得客户信任和提高品牌忠诚度的现代企业所必备的功能。 那么,为什么没有更多的公司享受到个性化带来的好处呢? 有一些棘手的问题经常变成阻碍。

例如缺乏资源(技术、财务、人力和时间资源)和流程、客户互动数据非常复杂、不了解营销投资回报,因此,将近一半的品牌未尝试提供个性化的内容不足为奇。

对于那些将努力投入个性化的品牌而言,下列数字*揭示了另一层次的挑战:

  • 59% 的品牌使用其客户的过时信息
  • 57% 的品牌弄错客户的个人详细信息
  • 36% 的品牌未记录客户在以前进行的购买或与品牌的互动
  • 54% 的人根据单次互动或购买做出假设
  • 54% 的品牌发送过多的个性化消息

* Sitecore 与 Vanson Bourne 的调研报告,2017 年

显而易见,虽然进行个性化很重要,但是在开始之前制定良好的策略可以确保您能够站稳脚跟,同时避免疏远受众的风险

64% 的组织要么不收集数据,要么将其存储在孤立的系统中,导致客户的体验不连贯。

第 2 章

从客户群体细分到个体化

客户群体细分是根据共同的特征或行为将客户分组的过程。 客户群体细分使您可以更轻松地定制向类似客户提供的内容,这通常被视为追求个性化的过程中很容易实现的目标。 例如,单变量客户群体可能基于性别、年龄或地点。

这是一个起点,如果您想要实现真正个体化的个性化,那么您可以(而且应该)利用的客户信息远多于这些单一特征。

多变量客户群体

正如您可能猜到的那样,多变量客户群体通过客户的多个(而不仅仅是一个)共同特征或行为对客户进行分组。 例如,某个客户可能符合以下情况:

      来自日本

      以前从未交易

      对耳机类产品感兴趣

      是年龄介于 25 至 30 岁之间的女性

虽然它显然提供了更多的洞察信息,而且相对于单变量客户群体而言便于进行更深入的个性化,但它在很大程度上仍然是一般化的特征,留下了一些未解答的问题: 该群体中的所有人确实相同吗? 他们的愿望和需求是否不同? 访问您的网站时,他们都有相同的动机或紧迫感吗?

个体化

这是最高级的个性化形式,细化客户数据有助于您为每位客户提供真正个体化的体验。 这意味着您将利用您所了解的有关访问者的所有信息,例如他们访问贵网站时所用设备的类型、访问时间、访问原因等等 

通过了解每个客户的个人动机,然后相应地定制您为其提供的内容,可以为贵品牌提供重要的竞争优势。

 

第 3 章

解决不合适的个性化: 成功的三个步骤

不要对如何开始优化个性化工作感到不知所措或沮丧,而是要将其视为一次机会。 改进的第一步是承认有一些工作要做,而且您已经迈出这一步。 非常棒!  现在让我们来探讨如何进一步发展。

第 1 步: 测试和学习

内容测试是开始收集有效和无效方面数据的好方法。 虽然您获得的分析不是一个告诉您该怎么做的神奇公式,但它们将让您深入了解哪些内容的表现最佳,甚至了解对哪些客户群体表现最佳。 这种可衡量的影响终结了猜测,并作为您可以用来调整和微调未来个性化策略的证明。

第 2 步: 从小规模开始

在通往最佳个性化的道路上,在跑起来之前先走路是明智的,但在走路之前先爬行更是明智之举。 不要试图一次性完成并一夜之间实现个性化,从微小、递增的改进开始更为现实。 积小胜为大胜,而且这些胜利还提供了可用于微调策略和内容的洞察信息。

首先以单个人物特征模型为目标。 如果您有数据可提供支持,请尝试以对您的组织具有最大价值的人物特征模型为目标。 改进高价值客户的体验可以更快地获得更好的结果。

另外尝试专注于改进特定元素,例如主页上的大横幅广告或电子商务应用中的结帐页面。 聚焦于一点可以更轻松地衡量、分析和了解结果。

然后,您可以针对默认内容测试个性化内容的表现,并  通过向他们展示您所做努力的投资回报率,赢得内部利益相关方的支持。

第 3 步: 请考虑客户的旅程

拥有这些工具很棒 - 但不要忘记考虑如何最好地运用它们。 请考虑客户的旅程以及他们与您的品牌互动时所采取的步骤。 此类洞察信息可以帮助您更有策略地规划个性化,使用触发因素来帮助引导客户的旅程。

一个简单的起点是分析访问者如何找到您。 假设您开展了搜索引擎关键字搜索营销活动。 当访问者点击您的链接时,他们登录的页面是否已使用与他们的搜索相关的内容进行个性化设置? 根据您对他们的了解,您从那里将他们引导到哪里?

“返回”按钮只需点击一下,如果提供给访问者的信息看起来不相关,他们会毫不犹豫地使用它。

第 4 章

请记住:相关性规则

仅仅因为您可以进行个性化,并不总是意味着您应该这样做。 请确保您所做的努力与客户密切相关且以客户为中心,但要适可而止。 如果内容过分量身定制,则会令客户感到担忧。

另外还需要考虑法律因素。 《一般数据保护条例》(GDPR) 是最近出台的一部法律,它让欧盟居民有权控制您存储的居民数据,以及控制您对数据的使用方式。

例如,您采用以下方法把某个客户作为目标:在网页横幅广告中称呼该客户的姓名,或根据该客户数月前浏览的信息向其显示内容。 如果您这样做,很可能会使客户失去兴趣,更糟糕的是可能违反 GDPR。

了解强大的个性化功能,从而了解如何才能运用数据为客户打造更好的体验

已经是 Sitecore 的客户?

查找培训、用户社区、文档、咨询和支持信息。

获得客户支持服务

查找您附近的活动

使用我的当前位置

更改我的位置

应用

Table of contents

Table of contents

Quick insight

Whether your personalization efforts aren’t delivering as expected or you’re one of the 47% of brands that haven’t started to personalize, start small and focus on your most important audience.

Chapter 1

How can personalization go wrong?

Personalization is a must-have for any modern business hoping to gain customer trust and brand loyalty. So then why aren’t more companies enjoying the benefits that personalization can deliver? There are some thorny issues that often stand in the way.

From a lack of resources (technological, financial, human, and time) to a lack of process, the complexities of customer interaction data to the understanding of the marketing ROI, it’s not surprising to learn that almost half of all brands aren’t attempting to personalize their content.

For those brands that are investing their efforts into personalization, these numbers* reveal another level of challenges:

  • 59% of brands use out-of-date information about their customers
  • 57% get customers’ personal details wrong
  • 36% keep no record of customers’ previous purchases or interactions with the brand
  • 54% make assumptions based on single interactions or purchases
  • 54% send too many personalized messages

* Sitecore and Vanson Bourne study, 2017

It’s plain to see that while it’s good to get in the game, having a good strategy in place before you get started ensures you’ll get off on the right foot, while avoiding the risk of alienating your audience.

64% of organizations are either not collecting data or are storing it in siloed systems, resulting in disjointed experiences for customers.

,

Chapter 2

From segmentation to individualization

Segmentation is the process of grouping customers into sets based on shared characteristics or behaviors. Segmentation makes it easier to customize the content you deliver to similar customers, and it’s often seen as the low-hanging fruit in the quest for personalization. Examples of single-variable customer segments might be ones based on gender, age, or location.

And while it acts as a starting point, there’s a lot more information about your customers than just these single traits that you could (and should) be leveraging if you want to achieve truly individualized personalization.

Multiple-variable customer segments

As you might guess, multiple-variable customer segments group customers by sets of traits or behaviors they have in common, rather than only one. An example might be a customer who:

      Is from Japan

      Has never transacted before

      Has an interest in the headphones product category

      Is female, age 25-30

While this clearly provides more insight and allows for deeper personalization than single-variable segments, it still relies on a heavy dose of generalization that leaves behind some unanswered questions: Are all the people in this segment really the same? Do their wants and needs vary? Do they all have the same motivation or sense of urgency for visiting your site?

Individualization

In the most advanced form of personalization, getting granular with your customer data puts you on the path to delivering truly individualized experiences to every customer. Which means you’re leveraging everything you’ve learned about your visitors, such as the type of device they’re using to visit your site, the time of day they’re visiting, why they’re visiting, and more .

Understanding each customer’s individual motivations, and then customizing the content you serve them accordingly, gives your brand an important competitive advantage.

 

Chapter 3

Personalization fixes: 3 steps for success

Rather than being overwhelmed or discouraged about how to begin optimizing your personalization efforts, try looking at it as an opportunity. The first step toward improvement is acknowledging that there’s some work to do, and you’ve already taken that step. Congratulations!  Now let’s explore how you might take it further.

Step 1: Test and learn

Content testing is a good way to start collecting data on what’s working and what’s not. While the analytics you get back aren’t a magical formula that tells you what to do, they will give you insight into what content is performing best, and perhaps even for which segments. That measurable impact ends the guessing game and acts as proof that you can use to adjust and fine-tune your personalization strategy going forward.

Step 2: Start small

On your path to optimal personalization, it’s wise to walk before you run — but it’s even wiser to crawl before you walk. Rather than trying to do it all at once and becoming an overnight personalization sensation, it’s more realistic to start with small, incremental improvements. Little wins add up, and they also provide insights you can use to fine-tune your strategy and content.

Start by targeting a single persona. If you have the data available to support it, try targeting the one that has the most value for your organization. Improving the experience of a high-value customer will deliver better results sooner.

Try concentrating on a specific element as well, such as the hero banner on your home page, or the checkout page in your e-commerce app. A singe focus makes it easier to measure, analyze, and learn from the results.

You can then test the performance of personalized content against default content, and get buy-in from your internal stakeholders by showing them the ROI of your efforts.

Step 3: Consider your customers’ journey

Having the tools is great — but don’t forget to think about how best to use them. Consider your customers’ journey and the steps they take in interacting with your brand. Insights like this can help you plan your personalization more strategically, using triggers to help guide customers along their journey.

An easy place to start is by analyzing how people find you. Let’s assume you have campaigns for keyword searches on search engines. When a visitor clicks on your link, is the page they land on personalized with content related to their search? And where do you guide them from there, based on what you know about them?

The ‘back’ button is a single click, and visitors won’t hesitate to use it if the information that’s served to them doesn’t seem relevant.

Chapter 4

Remember: relevancy rules

Just because you can personalize, doesn’t always mean you should. Make sure your efforts are relevant and customer-centric, without going too far. There’s customized, and then there’s creepy.

There are also legal aspects to consider. The General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) is one recent area which gives EU residents rights over the data you store on them, and how they allow you to use it.

Let’s say you target a customer by addressing them by name in a webpage banner or continuing to show them content based on something they viewed months ago. You then run the risk of turning them off and losing them, or worse, violating the GDPR.

Look at the power of personalization as an opportunity to demonstrate how you can use data to craft better experiences for your customers.