目录

目录

快速洞察

Birthed from a bold vision at the turn of century, Sitecore’s content management system and digital experience platform was developed to empower marketers to deliver memorable and personalized online experiences – no developers required.

五位好友和一个大胆的新愿景

1998 年,五位好友 Thomas Albert、Jakob Christensen、Peter Christensen、Ole Thrane 和 Michael Seifert 共同创办了系统集成公司 Pentia A/S,专注于实施采用 Microsoft 技术构建的网站。 在开发一个又一个网站后,Thrane 决定通过编写脚本自动执行网站开发流程的各个方面。 他那时并不知道,他编写的脚本后来成为 Sitecore 的雏形。

在实施网站的同时,该团队开始为数字营销人员设想更好的未来: 如果营销人员能够独立打造有意义且极具吸引力的在线品牌体验,而无需依靠开发人员,情况将会怎样? 第二年,他们发布了 Sitecore 的第一个版本,这是一种全新的数字内容管理方法。 2001 年,Sitecore Corporation 成立,Seifert 担任首席执行官。Sitecore 开始迅速在内容管理系统 (CMS) 市场广受欢迎。

国际扩张的战略路径

Sitecore 于 2002 年在哥本哈根和乌克兰开设了办事处。 但是,真正让 Sitecore 从丹麦科技公司中脱颖而出的举措是 Sitecore 在早期就扩张到美国。

自从 Sitecore 成立以来,所有软件和文档均采用英文编写。 Sitecore 之所以能够在 2004 年、2005 年和 2007 年分别扩张到美国、英国和澳大利亚,很大程度上是因为主动做出了这项战略性的决策。

使用英文并非 Sitecore 在早期做出的唯一一项战略性的决策。 在 Sitecore 成立初期,大多数主要互联网企业通过静态 HTML 网页发布内容。 在由开发人员组成的团队带领下,Sitecore 从一开始就发布动态网页和内容。 这项决策为 Sitecore 成为当今首屈一指的数字体验平台铺平了发展道路,虽然我们当时并不知道这一点。

网站内容管理已过时

这至少是 Siefert 在 2006 年对 Sitecore 董事会所说的话。 虽然 Sitecore 当时已在内容管理系统市场处于领先地位,但是 Siefert 不再满足于只是构建“网站的打字机”。

在经过多次讨论之后,团队制定了新计划。

许多公司运用社交媒体与其客户和潜在客户进行交流,在这一过程中发现了营销分析的重要性,因而开始实施自动化系统。 但是这些系统独立于网站,而且通常难以集成。 Sitecore 能够将所有这些系统和网站结合起来。

但是有一个问题需要解决。 当时,Sitecore 没有资金去做大多数公司在决定扩大服务时会做的事情:收购其他公司。 如果 Sitecore 打算提供这些服务,只有一条路可行:从头开始构建一个互联平台。

这并不容易,许多人认为我们做这种尝试很疯狂,但是两年后,团队推出了 Sitecore 数字体验平台的第一个迭代版本。 该平台为每位网站访问者创建了中央信息存储库,这可用于打造和提供个性化的数字体验。 该平台为如今的 Sitecore® Experience Platform™ 奠定了坚实的基础。

Sitecore 现况

随着 Sitecore 的技术不断拓展,我们在全球的业务也不断扩大。 在 2007 年开设澳大利亚办事处后,我们在 2008 年开设了荷兰和瑞典办事处,在 2009 年开设了日本办事处,在 2010 年开设了加拿大和德国办事处,在 2012 年开设了新加坡和法国办事处,在 2015 年开设了比利时、马来西亚、中国和印度尼西亚办事处,在 2016 年开设了中国香港办事处,在 2017 年开设了中东和印度办事处。

如今,Sitecore 正引领着营销技术创新,不仅赢得了一系列重要奖项,其市场领先地位也得到了顶尖分析公司的认可。此外,来自各行各业、采用各种商业模式和位于不同地点的客户也大力推荐我们。 Sitecore 正在助力全球各地的营销团队掌控他们为其客户、选民和支持者所打造的体验。

Table of contents

Table of contents

Quick insight

Birthed from a bold vision at the turn of century, Sitecore’s content management system and digital experience platform was developed to empower marketers to deliver memorable and personalized online experiences – no developers required.

Five friends and a bold new vision

In 1998, five friends – Thomas Albert, Jakob Christensen, Peter Christensen, Ole Thrane, and Michael Seifert – founded Pentia A/S, a systems integration company focused on implementing websites built with Microsoft technologies. Thrane, after developing one website after another, decided to write a script to automate aspects of the process. He didn’t know it then, but he had just written Sitecore’s first code.

While implementing websites, the team began to imagine a better future for digital marketers: What if marketers could deliver meaningful and engaging online brand experiences without leaning on developers? The next year, they released the first version of Sitecore – a new way to manage digital content. In 2001, the Sitecore Corporation was founded, with Seifert as the CEO, and Sitecore began taking the content management system (CMS) market by storm.

A strategic path to international expansion

Sitecore opened offices in Copenhagen and Ukraine in 2002. But it was Sitecore’s early expansion into the US that set us apart from other Danish technology companies.

Since Sitecore’s inception, all software and documentation has been written in English. Thanks in large part to this intentional and strategic decision, Sitecore was able to expand to the US in 2004, the UK in 2005, and Australia in 2007.

The use of English wasn’t the only strategic decision Sitecore made early on. When we began, most of the major internet players were delivering content through static HTML pages. Led by a team of developers, Sitecore delivered dynamic pages and content from the start. We didn’t know it at the time, but this decision prepared the way for Sitecore to become the premier digital experience platform it is today.

Web content management is dead

At least, that’s what Siefert told Sitecore’s board in 2006. While Sitecore was a leader in the CMS market, Siefert was no longer satisfied simply making a “typewriter for the web.”

After many discussions, the team came up with a new plan.

Many companies were using social media to communicate with their customers and prospects, discovering the importance of marketing analytics, and beginning to implement automation. But these systems were separate from their websites and often hard to integrate. Sitecore would combine them all.

There was only one problem. Sitecore didn’t have the money to do what most corporations do when they decide to expand services – acquire other companies. If Sitecore was going to provide these services, there was one route forward: build a connected platform from the ground up.

It wasn’t easy, and many thought we were crazy for trying, but two years later, the team launched the first iteration of Sitecore’s digital experience platform. The platform created a central repository of information for each web visitor, which could be used to create and deliver personalized digital experiences. The foundation was laid for the Sitecore® Experience Platform™ of today.

Sitecore today

As Sitecore’s technology expanded, so did our global presence. Following the opening of Australian offices in 2007, we opened offices in the Netherlands and Sweden in 2008, Japan in 2009, Canada and Germany in 2010, Singapore and France in 2012, Belgium, Malaysia, China, and Indonesia in 2015, Hong Kong in 2016, and the Middle East and India in 2017.

Today, Sitecore is leading the way in martech innovation — receiving an array of awards, market-leadership recognition from top analyst firms, and numerous recommendations from clients spanning industries, business models, and locations. Sitecore is helping marketing teams around the world own the experiences they create for their customers, constituents, and supporters.