目录

目录

快速洞察

不要仅比较内容管理系统的各项功能,还应思考这些功能在目前和未来五年里是否真正能够帮助您实现业务目标。

第 1 章

评估您的业务需求

何为最好的内容管理系统? 这个问题的答案在很大程度上取决于贵组织。 要了解贵组织的需求,首先要考虑贵组织目前的数字化成熟度。 您是否已规划客户旅程? 您是否正在收集您在客户购买前后提供的体验的相关数据? 您是否正在运用该数据,按照人物特征模型与客户进行互动? 一对一的体验如何?

一旦您明确了目前客户体验成熟度与未来远大目标之间的差距,请思考有助于缩小该差距的功能和可用架构。 您希望实现多大的目标,将决定您所需的内容管理系统复杂程度。

您希望通过内容实现什么目标? 您在与客户建立个性化关系方面的现状如何,您希望达到什么目标?

第 2 章

您需要的 9 项内容管理系统功能

1. 创建和编辑内容

内容管理系统至少应让您可以轻松创建、编辑和发布内容。 使用起来越容易,就越有时间专注于实施您的战略。 

2. 工作流程、报告和内容组织

是否有许多人参与制作您的内容? 确保内容管理系统可以全程追踪内容的详细信息,即从内容创作、编辑和批准到发布、推广和报告的整个过程。

如果能够在内容管理系统中自定义和控制工作流程,将有助于每个人顺利地协同工作,并按时完成任务。 借助于智能报告工具和仪表板等功能,您能够密切关注不同类别的内容,例如等待审批的内容和每个主题的内容。

如果您经常紧急更新内容,请寻找具有强大组织功能(例如链接管理功能)的内容管理系统,这样即使网站上的内容发生移动或更改,也自动可供访问。

3. 用户和基于角色的管理

控制谁可以访问内容和功能将有助于您防止出错。 您所选的内容管理系统应允许自定义用户管理权限,而且能够在您的需求发生变化时扩展。

确保您所选的解决方案支持基于角色的权限,这将有助于您在需求增长时扩展,因为它使您能够管理人群而非个人的访问权限。

4. 安全性

设想一下,虽然您已致力于改进数字战略和与客户建立个性化的关系,但是有一天醒来却发现存在安全违规行为。 妥善保护您的数据和客户的数据,将有助于客户对您所提供的产品和服务保持高度信任。

一些内容管理系统集成了功能强大的身份验证机制,旨在加强安全性并防止未经授权访问敏感信息。 请确保您的内容管理系统可与您选择的企业安全服务提供商程序或第三方身份验证系统完美集成。

5. 多渠道可扩展性

将内容发布到许多不同的渠道、设备和界面可能意味着需要做大量的工作,除非您拥有一款 Headless 内容管理系统,让它帮助您高效完成这些工作。

Headless 内容管理系统将内容与其呈现方式分离。 内容创建一次,然后在任何设备或渠道上呈现。

使用某些内容管理系统时,只需创建内容一次,即可将其发布到任何位置。 其他一些内容管理系统让您可以轻松添加新渠道,只需将现有内容加载到新渠道中即可。 如果贵组织希望通过多个数字渠道与客户互动,那么优先考虑多渠道可扩展性功能是一项明智之举。

6. 多语言内容功能

在数字革命之前,营销人员在广泛传播其营销信息方面举步维艰。 数字营销让您可以跨越国界,轻松扩大客户群。 但是,无论您的营销信息多么好,或者您能够多么轻松地发布信息,如果不以客户的语言与客户沟通,将无法触及受众。

如果您目前或期望在不久的将来为国际受众提供服务,请确保您所选的内容管理系统支持多语言编辑工具和直观的翻译工作流程。 有关数字信息和隐私的法律因国家/地区而异,因此在寻找内容管理系统时,应关注其在信息治理方面采取的控制措施是否符合客户所在位置的地方法规。

7. 灵活性、可扩展性和绩效

您的内容管理系统是一项长期投资。 请确保您的内容管理系统具有足够的可扩展性,能与您的业务一起成长。 某些内容管理系统与其他内容管理系统相比具有更大的灵活性,支持范围广泛的 API,因此您可以跨不同的渠道和设备对内容进行更多操作。

一般来说,您可以从自己的服务器或云端运行内容管理系统。 云端托管的内容管理系统可以加快投入市场的速度,并提供您本来不具有的敏捷性,让您能够处理突发的流量高峰和不断变化的需求。

8. 个性化和分析

数字营销的未来在于为客户打造个性化、密切相关的体验,无论他们选择如何与您互动。 要做到这一点,您的内容管理系统需要能够实时收集和处理互动数据,并帮助您解读这些数据,从而了解客户在其购买旅程中所处的阶段。 有了这些信息,您就可以根据客户的情况显示个性化的内容。

此外,您还需要确保收集关于客户在所有渠道上的全部体验的数据,因此,内容管理系统应当作为范围更广泛的集中式数字体验平台的一部分运行。

9. 内容与电子商务相结合

随着客户对在线体验的期望越来越高,如果不将电子商务与有吸引力的内容相结合,几乎不可能做好电子商务。 如果您需要一款用于电子商务和数字营销的内容管理系统,则需要关注其是否具有一整套特定的功能。

单一管理界面将帮助您在一个位置统一不同的数据源。 如果拥有其他功能,例如无缝衔接且灵活适应的库存管理、后续步骤的自动化,以及轻松与支付、发货和税务提供程序集成,将有助于您为客户提供简单便捷的购物体验。 请参阅我们撰写的完整指南,进一步了解这些功能。

第 3 章

内容管理系统架构: 其重要性何在

内容管理系统可以通过三种不同的方式构建:传统、解耦或 Headless。 简而言之,选择哪种架构取决于您的在线业务的复杂程度。 架构还可以限制编辑人员与开发人员协同工作的灵活性、内容的发布渠道和速度,以及跨渠道更改内容的容易程度。

请务必了解这些差异,确保内容管理系统不会阻碍您为客户提供最佳的体验。 请参阅内容管理系统选购权威指南,详细了解相关信息。

Table of contents

Table of contents

Quick insight

Rather than just comparing CMS features, look into whether those features will actually help you toward your business goals, now and over the next five years.

Chapter 1

Assessing your business requirements

What’s the best content management system? Well, the answer to that depends heavily on your organization. To figure out what you need, start by thinking about your current digital maturity. Have you mapped your customer journeys? Are you collecting data on the experiences you offer before and after purchases? Are you using that data to engage your customers by persona? What about one-to-one?

Once you’ve clarified the distance between your current customer experience maturity and your future ambitions, think about the features and available architecture that will help you close that gap. How far across the model you want to move will determine how complex your CMS needs to be.

What do you want to achieve with your content? Where are you now in terms of personalized relationships with your customers, and how far do you want to go?

,

Chapter 2

9 CMS features you need

1. Creating and editing content

As a minimum requirement, your CMS should let you easily create, edit, and publish content. The easier it is to use, the more time you’ll have to concentrate on your strategy. 

2. Workflows, reporting, and content organization

Are there a lot of people involved in producing your content? Make sure your CMS can track the details of your content from start to finish, from authoring, editing, and approval to publication, promotion, and reporting.

The ability to customize and control workflows within your CMS will help everyone work together smoothly and stay on track with deadlines. And with features like intelligent reporting tools and dashboards, you’ll be able to keep tabs on different categories of content, like content that’s awaiting approval and content per topic.

If you often make urgent updates to your content, look for a CMS with strong organizational functionality, like link management, so that your content is automatically accessible even as it moves around or changes on your site.

3. User and role-based administration

Having control over who can access content and features will help you prevent mistakes. Choose a CMS with customizable user administration, including room to expand as your needs change.

Ensuring your chosen solution allows for role-based rights will help you scale as you grow, as it enables you to manage access for groups of people instead of individuals.

4. Security

Imagine this: you’ve worked hard to refine your digital strategy and build personalized relationships with your customers, only to wake up one day to discover there’s been a security breach. Protecting your data and your customers’ data will help you retain trust in the products and services you offer.

Some CMSs integrate with strong authentication mechanisms to beef up security and prevent unauthorized access to sensitive information. Make sure your CMS integrates well with your chosen enterprise security provider or third-party authentication systems.

5. Multichannel scalability

Delivering content to many different channels, devices, and interfaces can mean a lot of work — unless you have a headless CMS that helps you do that efficiently.

A headless CMS separates content from its presentation. Content is created once, then rendered on any device or channel.

Certain CMSs let you create your content once and deliver it anywhere. Others make it easy to add new channels and simply load your existing content onto them. If your organization is looking to reach customers across many digital channels, prioritizing multichannel scalability features is a smart move.

6. Multilingual content capabilities

Before the digital revolution, marketers struggled to deliver their message far and wide. Digital marketing allows you to skip across borders and expand your customer base with ease. But no matter how great your message is or how easily you can deliver it, you won’t reach your audience if you’re not speaking their language — literally.

If you currently serve an international audience or expect to in the near future, make sure you choose a CMS that supports multilingual editing tools and intuitive translation workflows. Laws surrounding digital information and privacy vary from country to country, so you’ll want to look for a CMS with information governance controls that comply with local regulations where your customers live.

7. Flexibility, scalability, and performance

Your CMS is a long-term investment. Make sure your CMS is scalable enough to grow with your business. Some CMSs offer more flexibility than others, supporting an extensible range of APIs so you can do more with your content across different channels and devices.

Generally, you can either run your CMS from your own servers or on the cloud. A cloud-hosted CMS can speed up your time to market and also give you the agility you wouldn’t otherwise have to handle traffic spikes and changing demand.

8. Personalization and analytics

The future of digital marketing lies in building personalized, relevant experiences for your customers, no matter how they choose to interact with you. To do this, you need a CMS that can collect and process interaction data in real time, and help you interpret that data to understand where your customers are in their buying journey. With that information, you can then show them content that’s personalized to their situation.

You’ll also need to make sure you’re capturing their entire experience across all your channels, which is why it’s important to have a CMS that operates as part of a wider, centralized digital experience platform.

9. Content and commerce integration

With customers expecting more from their online experiences, it’s almost impossible to do e-commerce now without connecting it to appealing content. If you need a CMS for both e-commerce and digital marketing, there’s a whole subset of specific features to look for.

A single-pane-of-glass interface will help you unify disparate sources of data in one place. Additional features like seamless and adaptable inventory management, next-step automation, and easy integration with payment, shipping, and tax providers will help you bring a simple shopping experience to your customers. Check out our full-length guide to learn more about these features.

Chapter 3

CMS architecture: Why it matters

Content management systems can be built in three different ways: traditional, decoupled, or headless. In a nutshell, the architecture you choose depends on how complex your online presence will be. The architecture can also limit your flexibility in terms of how editors and developers work together, which channels you can deliver your content to and how quickly, and how easy it is to make changes to content across channels.

Make sure you understand the differences so that your CMS doesn’t hold you back from providing the best possible experience to your customers. Check out The definitive guide to choosing a CMS to learn more.